Junichi Nishali

III Semester, IS & E

What is it about the movies and series we watched as kids that still bring back these happy memories? I, for one, had an awfully good time watching movies with the sibling. We all had our favourites, right? I remember saying, “I wish, I wish, with all my heart, to fly with dragons, in the land of heart” a fair few times. For some, it was ‘Dragonball Z’, for some, it was ‘Spongebob Squarepants’ ,and ‘Dexter’s Laboratory’ ,or the other one on Nickelodeon with the Neutron kid, and for a lot of people like me, it will be ‘Phineas and Ferb’ for a little more while, at least.

There were a lot more favourites for a lot more people, I’m sure.

It’s supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

Even though the sound of it is something quite atrocious

If you say it loud enough, you’ll always sound precocious

Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

All of you need to know, it’s a proven fact that all the movies and TV shows you watched as a kid have shaped you into the individual you are today. We watched these shows when our creative imagination had probably just started developing . They affected us in ways that we don’t really realise. I mean, you have only Popeye to blame for making you eat so much spinach. Ugh!

Donald Duck and Mickey Mouse did teach us kids a lot, to be honest. Oh, I bet most of you have held up sticks or straws and said “Expelliarmus” at least once. It’s okay, so have I!

I once threw a ball at my sister and shouted, “Pikachu, I choose you”. Trust me, “Pikachu” wasn’t happy to be chosen. And I think Julie Andrews was the best nanny/governess/grandmom any kid could ever dream of having! I mean, my nanny never came home flying with her umbrella. How cool was ‘Mary Poppins’?  And please tell me I’m not the only one who still sings “Doe, a deer, a female deer..Ray, a drop of golden sun…” in the shower.

All I’m trying to say is, all these shows and movies gave us a lot to treasure. While the kids now seem to like the “new age” shows, they will never know how much fun it was to watch Elmer Fudd hunt Bugs Bunny, or how much fun it was to pretend to be the Road runner;”BEEP BEEP” was hell for my mother.

Cherish these, is all I can say. The next generation will never have it the same, they wouldn’t be aware of what they missed out on, either. But we’d know it, right? It’s tragic.

P.S. Sugar, spice, and everything nice were the only ingredients chosen. “Chemical X”, Professor? Really?  Utonium! You dawg, you.

